Top Honors for Team Coast Guard!

By Petty Officer 3rd Class Joshua L. Canup

Coast Guard wins honors at 2017 Aerospace Maintenance Competition

It was a proud day for the men and women that keep the Coast Guard flying.

Two Coast Guard teams participated in the 2017 Aerospace Maintenance Competition (AMC) presented by Snap-on: The U.S. Coast Guard Aeronautical Engineers team and the Coast Guard Air Station Clearwater team.

The competition, held in Orlando, Florida, on April 25-27, hosted 55 teams of aviation maintenance professionals representing the military, commercial airlines, maintenance repair operations (MRO) specialists, and colleges nation-wide.

The teams were challenged to 24 events that tested their maintenance abilities in timed trails. While the Aeronautical Engineers team did not win the event the Coast Guard still won as the Air Station Clearwater team took top honors in the military division.

Present on the Coast Guard Aeronautical Engineers team was AET1 Luke Voorees of Air Station Miami, OFB winner AMT1 Jeremiah Branscomb of USCGC Hitron, AMT1 Shaun Estes of Air Station Sacramento, AET1 Jonathan Frumkin of Aviation Logistics Center, AMTC Joseph Ramsey of Air Station Barbers Point and AMTCM Kit Harris, AMT Rating Force Master Chief from Coast Guard Headquarters.

Present on the Air Station Clearwater team was AMTC Scott Burns-Team Captain, AMT1 Jonathan Herring, AMT1 Joshua Russell, AMT2 Dustin Lachney, AET2 Michael Wallace, and AET2.5 Brandon Aycock.

The members were presented with plaques celebrating their win on Thursday, April 27, at the Orange County Convention Center in Orlando, Florida. Bravo Zulu!




Coast Guard wins honors at 2017 Aerospace Maintenance Competition